The Prepare to Teach tool inside of Global Course Administration is where you can:
Note: Only the Section Instructor of Record is able to assign Registrar sections to course shells.
Prior to any other actions, locate the Term selection box and choose the correct term.
If the section you are teaching is not listed you will need to contact your Departmental Contact to be added as Instructor of Record.
If the term for which you are trying to prepare is not listed you will need to use the Request a New Course Shell tool.
Follow these steps to:
*If you don’t see a section and you’ve verified that you are listed as the Instructor of Record, you may have accidentally added the section to another course. Click the links to “Show linked sections” until you locate the incorrectly assigned section. Then, drag the section to the correct course or return it to your Unlinked Registrar Sections.
If you’ve accidentally added a section to the incorrect course, you can remove it as long as students have not yet made any submissions. To remove a section from a course:
Mobile or keyboard users may find it easier to use the built-in menu for course creation.
Once the Registrar Section is linked to a course, you have additional options.
Once students are enrolled you also need to Publish the course by clicking the toggle as shown below. The left course card will turn green and the toggle will say “YES” when the course is published.
The default in newly created courses is for students to gain access on the Monday prior to the start of the semester if the course has been published.
Previously created courses will allow students to gain access as soon as the course is published unless you take the following actions:
*If you are using Redshelf for Immediate Access you will need to add your Registrar sections via Prepare to Teach at least two weeks before the start of classes at the very latest.
To de-clutter your Dashboard, Courses list, and Calendar, conclude your previous semesters’ courses. Courses which have not been concluded but contain end dates in the past will display with a yellow course card and an exclamation point next to Concluded.
To remove the course from your Dashboard and Calendar, click the toggle to conclude the course. The card will turn gray and the toggle will say “YES” when the course is concluded. This action can be undone at any future point in time.
Hover over the help icon (on the far left of your screen in Canvas) for help on each item or call the Solution Center at 515-294-4000 and follow the prompts to speak to Solution Center staff about ISU AdminTools.