How do I restrict student access before or after the semester?

How do I restrict student access before or after the semester?

View “Set your students’ access dates and permissions” in the Course Settings section of the Start of Semester Checklist to see how to specify alternate start and end days for your course.

By default, the course will use the term dates set by the university (approximately 1 week before classes begin and 2 weeks after the grades are due). Outside of these dates, the course will not appear on the Dashboard but as long as it is published, students will still be able to access all content and submit assignments by going to All Courses.

To override these dates to specify when the course appears on the Dashboard and when students can interact with the course, you must both:

  1. Specify alternate dates
  2. Check the box that students can only participate in the course between these dates.

To allow students to view the course content but not participate in discussions, access previous quizzes, or otherwise participate:

  1. Go to the ?Help menu and click on Global Course Administration.
  2. Click on Prepare to Teach and enable the toggle to Conclude the course (see instructions in the Prepare to Teach guide).

To prevent students from viewing the course content at all:

  1. Specify alternate dates
  2. Check the box that students can only participate in the course between these dates.