Course conclusion in Canvas

On Sept. 29, courses created before Fall 2020 changed to the concluded status. This process excluded courses with end dates set in the future (e.g., Dec. 1, 2025).

Courses in Canvas are sorted and managed by the terms’ pre-determined duration of times and dates; thus, Canvas is designed to conclude courses following the end of the academic term. Concluded courses become read-only; therefore, you cannot edit or contribute to the course’s content unless it is unconcluded.

Concluding a course once a term has ended offers several benefits:

  • Reducing any clutter on the Courses menu (accessed on the Global Navigation, far left menu bar) and the dashboard in Canvas for all users. 
  • Eases the course loading speed, accessibility of current courses, and course naming conflicts, such as courses named the same from semester to semester. 
  • Safeguards the site from any potentially unwarranted changes to site content by either the teaching team or students. For instance, if assignments are left open (no defined availability) in an unconcluded course, students could potentially continue to submit to assignments or post to discussion threads.
  • Instructors continue to have access to copy concluded courses to a future semester’s course.
  • Students have read-only access to a concluded course.

 

To prevent a course from concluding, follow these steps prior to the end of the semester:

  1. Navigate to ISU AdminTools via the course menu.
  2. Choose ‘View Additional Course Settings.’ 
  3. It is essential to click the ‘Course concludes after the semester ends’ toggle to ‘NO.’

This will result in your students maintaining read-only access at the end of the semester. See below for additional access options.

To prevent student access entirely from a concluded course, follow these steps:

  1. Go to Settings on the course menu.
  2. Enter an end date shortly after the semester ends.
  3. Check the boxes for ‘Students can only participate in the course between these dates’ and ‘Restrict students from viewing this course after end date.’
  4. Click Save.
If the course has already been concluded, a Teacher or Co-Teacher in the course must reactivate themselves to make this change. See the steps below to reactivate a user.

When specifying an end date to remove student access, be sure students are able to see their grades in AccessPlus before losing access to their work in Canvas.

To allow students to interact with a course beyond the semester, follow these steps prior to the end of the semester:

  1. Go to Settings on the course menu. 
  2. Enter an end date significantly in the future.
  3. Check the boxes for ‘Students can only participate in the course between these dates’ and ‘Restrict students from viewing this course after end date.’
  4. Click Save.
  5. Prevent the course from concluding according to the steps above.

Note: if the course has already concluded, each user will need to be reactivated individually according to the steps below.

To reactivate a user within a concluded course, follow these steps:

  1. Navigate to ISU AdminTools via the course menu.
  2. Choose ‘Manage Additional People.’ 
  3. Add the netID(s) to the appropriate section.
  4. Inside Canvas, go to Settings on the course menu. 
  5. Enter an end date in the future.
  6. Check the boxes for:
    1. ‘Students can only participate in the course between these dates’ and
    2. ‘Restrict students from viewing this course before the start date.’
  7. Click Save.

Note: a Teacher or Co-Teacher in the course must reactivate themselves before they are able to change Course Settings.

To reactivate all users within a concluded course, follow these steps:

  1. Navigate to ISU AdminTools via the course menu.
  2. Choose ‘Additional Course Settings.’ 
  3. Switch the Concluded toggle to ‘NO.’
  4. Click Save.

Note: a Teacher or Co-Teacher in the course must reactivate themselves before they are able to change Course Settings.

To temporarily add a new user to a concluded course for administrative purposes, follow these steps:

  1. Navigate to ISU AdminTools via the course menu.
  2. Choose ‘Manage Additional People.’ 
  3. Add the netID(s) to the appropriate section.
  4. Inside Canvas, go to Settings on the course menu. 
  5. Enter an end date in the future.
  6. Check the boxes for:
    1. ‘Students can only participate in the course between these dates’ and
    2. ‘Restrict students from viewing this course before the start date.’
  7. Click Save.

Note: a Teacher or Co-Teacher in the course must reactivate themselves before they are able to change Course Settings.

To view existing student data within a concluded course, follow these steps:

  1. Navigate to the Gradebook.
  2. Locate the ‘Student Name’ column.
  3. Click the 3 dots to display the popup menu.
  4. Select to show ‘concluded enrollments’.