Registration Open for Summer 2019 CIRTL Programming

CIRTL Network Center for the Integration of Research, Teaching and Learning’s s summer programming is open for registration! Cross-network early-bird registration for participants from CIRTL member institutions runs April 23 through May 7. Regular registration for courses and workshops opens to anyone regardless of their institution on May 8 and runs until approximately one week before programming begins. Registration does not guarantee enrollment. STEM/SBE grad students and postdocs from CIRTL institutions receive priority; we refer to the institution, role, and discipline in your website profile when assessing enrollment priority.

CIRTL’s MOOC is open for registration April 22, and though it has rolling registration, it is recommended that participants register by June 23, before the first week begins. Teaching institutes are also open and have staggered registration schedules.

To receive updates about summer programming – including registration announcements and schedule reminders – subscribe to CIRTL’s newsletter. Learn more about CIRTL from CELT’s CIRTL webpage or visit the CIRTL Network website.


Teaching Institutes

Teaching Institute at Johns Hopkins University
May 29 through 31 at Johns Hopkins University in Baltimore, MD
Learn common themes and challenges of teaching in higher ed during this 3-day institute at Johns Hopkins University’s Homewood Campus.

Teaching Institute at Johns Hopkins University
June 5 through 7 at Johns Hopkins University in Baltimore, MD
Learn common themes and challenges of teaching in higher ed during this 3-day institute at Johns Hopkins University East Baltimore Medical Campus.

CIRTL Summer Institute on Scientific Teaching
June 17 through 21 online in Blackboard Collaborate
Get a thorough introduction to CIRTL’s approach to STEM education in this online institute.

Evidence-Based Teaching Institute
July 29-August 2 (afternoons only) at the University of Colorado Boulder
Learn how to develop course content and assessments in this institute for postdocs and new faculty

Teaching Institute at the University of British Columbia
June 10-14 at the University of British Columbia
This institute consists of teaching practice, theory application, and topical sessions specifically relevant to STEM graduate students and scholars new to teaching.


Cross-Network Course, Workshop, and MOOC Offerings

Developing a CV or Resume
Thursday 6/20, Tuesday 6/25, & Thursday 6/27: 2-3:30PM ET / 1-2:30PM CT / 12-1:30PM MT / 11AM-12:30PM PT 
In this course, become familiar with the formats, purposes, and structures of various academic and professional CVs, through individual and group reviews of exemplary documents, and through drafting a long-form CV and a shorter document (NSF or NIH biosketch, or non-academic resume). Learn about opportunities to highlight the attainment of CIRTL learning outcomes and achievement levels in such documents.

How People Learn
Tuesdays, May 28-July 2: 2-3:30PM ET / 1-2:30PM CT / 12-1:30PM MT / 11AM-12:30PM PT 
Study the foundational work on the process of learning, “How People Learn,” as well as the follow-up book, “How People Learn II,” through this six-week, online, synchronous series.

Online Teaching Practicum
Wednesdays, May 29-July 24: 2-4:00 PM ET / 1-3:00 PM CT / 12-2:00PM MT / 11AM-1:00PM PT
The Online Teaching Practicum is a unique opportunity for future faculty who lead teaching workshops at their local institutions to prepare and propose to teach a one- or two-part online workshop for the national CIRTL Cross-Network Learning Community (CNLC). Previous experience facilitating teaching development workshops is a prerequisite for enrollment in this course.

An Introduction to Evidence-Based Undergraduate STEM Teaching
8 weeks, starting June 24
Get an introduction to evidence-based STEM teaching in a MOOC developed by faculty from across the CIRTL Network. Registration is rolling.

Questions?

Contact our colleagues at CIRTL via email Email: info@cirtl.net or call 608-448-3238