Time to Apply for the CELT Miller Faculty Fellowship Program

The Miller Faculty Fellowship has been in existence at Iowa State University since 1996. The competitive grant program supports faculty members to “enhance their scholarly work in the undergraduate academic programs of the university and to develop innovative approaches to enhance student learning”. Over the course of twenty years, the Miller Fellowship Program has funded over $3 million dollars worth of projects to nearly 600 faculty members within each of the colleges of the university. Previous Miller Faculty Fellows have noted that the funding not only improved their undergraduate teaching, but also furthered their professional development when the funds served as seed-funding for external grants, created opportunities for scholarship of teaching and learning (SoTL), and provided other reputation-building opportunities. One former Miller Faculty Fellowship recipient noted-
“Since the Miller Funding, I have written three articles and am currently composing a book. I have also written and obtained a grant from an external agency. This all stemmed from the initial Miller grant funding.”

CELT is now accepting proposals for 2017/2018 Miller Faculty Fellowships
The proposal deadline is Monday, December 5, 2016. Please see Miller Faculty Fellowship Program for 2017 – 2018 for full details. If you have questions, please contact Sara Marcketti, CELT Associate Director for the Scholarship of Teaching and Learning at sbb@iastate.edu.

If you are interested in presenting your scholarship of teaching and learning work at a regional conference, I would encourage you to submit a proposal for the 18th Midwest SoTL Conference, which will be held in South Bend, Indiana on April 7, 2017. The conference theme is Big Gifts Come in Small Packages: Small Changes That Work! I’ve attended the conference in the past and found it to be a great opportunity to meet other colleagues involved in SoTL projects in the Midwest. Proposals are due February 3, 2017 and more information is available on the Midwest SoTL Conference website.

We hope to see you there,
Ann Marie VanDerZanden, Director
Center for Excellence in Learning and Teaching

Miller projects will advance undergraduate teaching

Story originally published by Anne Krapfl on Inside Iowa State.

Five proposals for innovative approaches to undergraduate teaching will share about $51,000 in Miller Faculty Fellowship grants next year. The Center for Excellence in Learning and Teaching, which administers the program for the president’s office, will supplement the Miller funds with nearly $8,000. Matching funds — which aren’t required — total nearly $36,000.

The project names and awards for the 2016-17 academic year are:

  • Developing an instructor survey to measure the key principles of team-based learning instruction, $15,000
    Faculty team: Cassandra Dorius, Sarah Bickelhaupt, Meghan Gillette and Jeanna Nation, human development and family studies; Lisa Orgler, horticulture; Melissa Rands and Sandra Gahn, School of Education; Michael Dorneich, industrial and manufacturing systems engineering; Monica Lamm, chemical and biological engineering; Jane Rongerude, community and regional planning; Laura Bestler, CELT; Ann Smiley-Oyen, kinesiology; and Holly Bender, veterinary pathology
  • Integrating computational design and digital fabrication technology, $12,380
    Faculty team: Nick Senske and Shelby Doyle, architecture
  • Implementation of assessment of cooperative learning in a large engineering course, $14,601
    Faculty member: Benjamin Ahn, aerospace engineering
  • Genetics laboratory: Integrating training in molecular techniques and bioinformatics tools to promote deeper understanding of core biology concepts, $8,700
    Faculty team: Jelena Kraft and Marna Yandeau-Nelson, genetics, development and cell biology
  • Research, teaching and community engagement: Experiential learning through field ecology, $8,000 (65 percent of request)
    Faculty team: Timothy Stewart, Janette Thompson, Cassandra Nuñez, Michael Rentz and Peter Wolter, natural resource ecology and management; Joanne Olson and Kristina Tank, School of Education

The faculty must complete their projects by June 30, 2017, and submit final reports to CELT a month later. During fall semester, CELT hosts a luncheon at which the previous year’s recipients share their results and the current year’s recipients outline their projects.

CELT’s advisory board reviewed and ranked 19 proposals requesting a total of nearly $210,000 and recommended five for funding. Senior vice president and provost Jonathan Wickert gave final approval.

All Iowa State faculty (tenured, tenure-track and non-tenure eligible) may apply for funds, either individually or in teams. The maximum award is $15,000.

Visit Academic Year 2016-2017 Miller Faculty Fellowship Grant Abstracts (PDF)