CELT staff helps with bagging community food packages

For over 10 years CELT staff members and family members have volunteered at the Bethesda Lutheran Church Food Pantry. CELT staff help with bagging canned goods, boxed foods, and recipes for those in need prior to Thanksgiving week. When community members come to pick-up their food package they are also given a frozen turkey by the Bethesda Food Pantry staff.

CELT staff members and family participate in food package bagging project for those in need at Bethesda Lutheran Church.

Finalists named for CELT’s Associate Director for Online Learning

Three finalists have been named in the search for the Associate Director for Online Learning, a position in the Center for Excellence in Learning and Teaching (CELT). The finalists will interview on campus over the next couple of weeks.

The candidates are:

  • Devrim Ozdemir, instructional design coordinator, College of Health Sciences, Des Moines University, Iowa
  • Chen Hsin-liang, associate professor, Palmer School of Library and Information Science, Long Island University, New York
  • Kenneth Hay, former associate professor, cognitive science, Indiana University, Bloomington, Indiana

Candidate forums

The campus community is encouraged to attend an open forum with each candidate.

  • Devrim Ozdemir, Aug. 29 (3:10 – 4:30 p.m., 2030 Morrill Hall)
  • Chen Hsin-liang, Sept. 1 (2:10 – 3:00 p.m., 2030 Morrill Hal)
  • Kenneth Hay, Sept. 6, (11:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m., 2030 Morrill Hall)

If you would like to provide input after attending the open forums please complete a please complete Candidate Evaluation for the Associate Director for Online Learning, CELT website.

Shortlink to evaluation: http://bit.ly/celtassocdironline

CELT Seeks Applicants for the Associate Director for Online Learning

The Center for Excellence in Learning and Teaching (CELT) at Iowa State seeks qualified applications for an Associate Director for Online Learning. The Associate Director will hold the faculty rank of Assistant, Associate or Full Professor. This appointment will be split with 75% of the incumbent’s time spent on the Associate Director role. The remaining 25% will be allocated to responsibilities in the faculty member’s academic department home (the department with the closest disciplinary fit of the faculty member). For those candidates considered for the rank of Associate Professor or Professor with tenure, tenure would reside in the academic department.

The incumbent will provide leadership in faculty development to enhance exceptional online learning experiences. Specific duties will include plan, coordinate, and collaborate on faculty development programming for online learning and teaching. Collaborate on university wide online teaching and learning initiatives. Consult with faculty on an individual and confidential basis. Assist CELT Director and staff in building partnerships that promote excellence in all teaching and learning. Serve on assigned task forces and university committees. Perform other duties as assigned by the Director.

The successful candidate will have exceptional organizational and interpersonal communication skills. The candidate will work collaboratively with the CELT Director to prioritize complex projects and multiple deadlines. The candidate will possess strong leadership and teamwork skills along with the ability to organize and direct professional development as it relates to teaching and learning.

Visit Iowa State Jobs Position Posting: CELT Associate Director for Online Learning website

Miller projects will advance undergraduate teaching

Story originally published by Anne Krapfl on Inside Iowa State.

Five proposals for innovative approaches to undergraduate teaching will share about $51,000 in Miller Faculty Fellowship grants next year. The Center for Excellence in Learning and Teaching, which administers the program for the president’s office, will supplement the Miller funds with nearly $8,000. Matching funds — which aren’t required — total nearly $36,000.

The project names and awards for the 2016-17 academic year are:

  • Developing an instructor survey to measure the key principles of team-based learning instruction, $15,000
    Faculty team: Cassandra Dorius, Sarah Bickelhaupt, Meghan Gillette and Jeanna Nation, human development and family studies; Lisa Orgler, horticulture; Melissa Rands and Sandra Gahn, School of Education; Michael Dorneich, industrial and manufacturing systems engineering; Monica Lamm, chemical and biological engineering; Jane Rongerude, community and regional planning; Laura Bestler, CELT; Ann Smiley-Oyen, kinesiology; and Holly Bender, veterinary pathology
  • Integrating computational design and digital fabrication technology, $12,380
    Faculty team: Nick Senske and Shelby Doyle, architecture
  • Implementation of assessment of cooperative learning in a large engineering course, $14,601
    Faculty member: Benjamin Ahn, aerospace engineering
  • Genetics laboratory: Integrating training in molecular techniques and bioinformatics tools to promote deeper understanding of core biology concepts, $8,700
    Faculty team: Jelena Kraft and Marna Yandeau-Nelson, genetics, development and cell biology
  • Research, teaching and community engagement: Experiential learning through field ecology, $8,000 (65 percent of request)
    Faculty team: Timothy Stewart, Janette Thompson, Cassandra Nuñez, Michael Rentz and Peter Wolter, natural resource ecology and management; Joanne Olson and Kristina Tank, School of Education

The faculty must complete their projects by June 30, 2017, and submit final reports to CELT a month later. During fall semester, CELT hosts a luncheon at which the previous year’s recipients share their results and the current year’s recipients outline their projects.

CELT’s advisory board reviewed and ranked 19 proposals requesting a total of nearly $210,000 and recommended five for funding. Senior vice president and provost Jonathan Wickert gave final approval.

All Iowa State faculty (tenured, tenure-track and non-tenure eligible) may apply for funds, either individually or in teams. The maximum award is $15,000.

Visit Academic Year 2016-2017 Miller Faculty Fellowship Grant Abstracts (PDF)